The End of Premier Brand

Pearl modeling her easy walk harness at the park last year (don't mind her silly ear)

Premier is a line of dog products that I have used ever since adopting Pearl. Although they were a subsidiary (since 2010 I think) of a company that sells e-collars and other negative reinforcement training devices, the premier line has always been about positive/force free products. Among the products I have used include their easy walk harness and their busy buddy toys including their tug-a-jug, which we use to feed Pearl all of her meals since its the only thing that will slow her down so that it takes her longer than 45 seconds to eat. I was looking into purchasing another of their products, their KeepSafe breakaway collar, when I learned that their parent company has decided to incorporate the premier line of products into their own PetSafe brand. This is upsetting for me, as I do not want to support a company that sells negative reinforcement products and there is no longer a clear distinction between lines that allows me to feel okay about continuing to buy the products because I support only the force-free products. I am upset, though, because I don’t think there are comparable replacements out there for Premier products. We are already replacing the easy walk harness, because it rubs Pearl and doesn’t fit her right (we went with the Freedom No-Pull Harness– will post an update once we get it about how it works!), but nothing has worked as well as the tug-a-jug for feeding Pearl (we’ve tried the Kong wobbler and other, similar products), and we cannot find anything like their KeepSafe collar. We were also excited about trying some of their other products, like their Manners Minder. In my heart, I don’t feel right about continuing to support a company that not only sells thing like remote collars and the “StayMat,” but has taken a step back from acknowledging the distinction between positive and punishment-based training. Still, I want what is best for my dog and I am not sure what I will do if I can’t find a comparable method of preventing her from inhaling her dinner or, conversely, getting extremely frustrated trying to get her food out of a toy or if I can’t find another breakaway collar that will protect her from accidentally injuring herself on her collar. For now, I am going to do some more research and some more thinking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Pearl the Puppy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Pearl the Puppy

Pearl is just over 40 lbs of energy mixed with a pinch of crazy. We adopted her in March 2011 from a St. Louis rescue organization called Impact for Animals (now Pet Rescue Network). We are unsure about her age, but we are guessing she was born in Fall 2010. Her background is anybody's guess, but we are pretty sure that she has at least some sighthound in her. She's a whole lot of trouble but a whole lot of fun.

One thought on “The End of Premier Brand

  1. Hi Karen & Pearl, Thanks for popping into my blog and leaving your lovely comment.

    Pearl is just the cutest. Song and I are lloking forward to popping into your blog and seeing what you are getting up to.

Leave a Reply

