Max’s First Tick

Max and I were watching television this morning, both of us still half asleep. We were sitting on the couch and I was absentmindedly petting Max. When I was petting his head, I felt a strange bump. Even before I dug through his thick fur I knew what it must be: a tick. A close examination with a flashlight (my house has terrible lighting) confirmed my suspicion.

Anyone who knows me well can say that I hate bugs. In fact, I am terrified of them. Growing up, I would scream anytime I saw a spider. In college, I used to wake up my roommates in the middle of the night to rescue me from flies and earwigs. I know it’s pathetic.

This morning, when faced with this horrible tick on my precious puppy, I didn’t even question what I had to do. Although I cannot say that I wasn’t incredibly grossed out by the whole thing, I patiently fed Max cookies while I extracted the tick with tweezers. I googled how to remove a tick before I started, so I knew to try to get the tick’s head and everything, and I think I did it right. Max didn’t even seem to notice what was going on.

This was a big step for me. I love my puppy so much that I will do anything for him. Since getting Max I have been peed on, I have been vomited on, I’ve had to pick up poop, and now I’ve had to remove a tick. And he’s still the best thing that’s ever happened to me.

6 thoughts on “Max’s First Tick

  1. Awwww! I never thought a blog post about a tick would be sweet but you have proven me wrong.

    I am glad you were able to find it before it caused any problems! I am also glad to say my dog has yet to pee or vomit on me… *knocks on wood*

  2. I found a tick on Maddy 2 weeks ago. Even after de-ticking lots of greyhounds at our adoption group on load days, I was still shocked and panicked at finding one on my girl. I did the same thing, got out a flashlight and tweezers and prayed I would get the whole disgusting thing out in one try. Luckily I did. Now there is no more walking through tall grass for them.

  3. Congratulations! I am also afraid of many bugs – spiders and ticks being the worst. For some reason, I am able to pick them off my dogs, but forget it when I find one on me. I just scream. 🙂

Leave a Reply

