This Is Why I Don’t Cook

I spent this evening cooking rabbit for my dog. We go back to training class tomorrow after the holiday break and because of her allergies and the food trial we have been using kibble for training but have nothing really “high value.” She used to love peanut butter, chicken, cheese, and hot dogs, all of which are currently off limits. I tried making little treats out of the canned version of the prescription food she is on, but they just fall apart and the canned food also doesn’t work well in a food tube- all the liquid squeezes out first somehow (the canned stuff is pretty dry and crumbly). So I checked with the vet and got the O.K. to give her actual rabbit meat. I had to track down a butcher that sold rabbit and then figure out how I was going to cook it and get the bones out of it (regardless of how I feel about feeding raw I felt like it had to be cooked for class so that I could handle things there without giving everyone salmonella).

Now, I am not a vegetarian but I am not a big meat eater. I hate cooking and my least favorite thing about cooking is handling raw meat. In my normal life, I won’t do it, I leave it to my husband. If he wants meat, he can cook it. For Pearl, I not only had to handle raw rabbit meat but I had to rip and chop it up, get rid of bones… ick it made my skin crawl. But for Pearl, I powered through it. I got out the bones, cooked it, and cut it up in treat size pieces.

Proud of my handiwork, I went to give her a piece to see how she liked it. I asked her to sit, offered her a piece of rabbit… and she spit it out. My dog, who will eat almost anything, wouldn’t eat the darn rabbit. Seriously!?!? Epic fail. I don’t get it. She loves the rabbit and potato kibble (well, she inhales it, as she has almost any food we have ever given her, so we assume she loves it). Apparently no one in this house thinks I am a good cook, even the dog.

So we are bringing kibble with us tomorrow after all. In the meantime, I am obsessively washing my hands because I am a germaphobe when it comes to raw meat and I can’t get the slimy feeling of rabbit meat off of them!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Pearl the Puppy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Pearl the Puppy

Pearl is just over 40 lbs of energy mixed with a pinch of crazy. We adopted her in March 2011 from a St. Louis rescue organization called Impact for Animals (now Pet Rescue Network). We are unsure about her age, but we are guessing she was born in Fall 2010. Her background is anybody's guess, but we are pretty sure that she has at least some sighthound in her. She's a whole lot of trouble but a whole lot of fun.

8 thoughts on “This Is Why I Don’t Cook

  1. Rabbit is notorious for dogs not liking it. It is a very lean meat, and especially domestic rabbit is super mild, meaning there is nothing big in the flavor-pow department.

    As an idea for future cooking of meats, a pressure cooker is great. You can toss the meat in whole, without having to debone it or anything, then cook it until the bones are soft, mash it up, and use it in the tube. When doing home cooked diets for my dogs (before we switched to raw), we did this with chicken regularly.

  2. Thanks for everyone’s tips 🙂 I am counting down the days until this food trial is over and we can start adding other things back in Pearl’s diet. At least her tummy troubles have really cleared up on this hypoallergenic food, so its worth it!

  3. Gah! I feel your pain – I had to give one of my kitties raw rabbit when she was sick and it made me gag every time!! I was thankful when she decided that she didn’t like it 😉 I’m glad Pearl’s tummy troubles have resolved with the new diet!

  4. Pingback: Review of Mr. Chewy: Update | Tricks for Treats

  5. My 2 year old Shih Tzu , Celine loves rabbit! I started her on it due to food allergies and she inhales it. I mean I didn’t know how greedy she was until she started eating rabbit. It’s very light and lean, it doesn’t upset her stomach & she has regular/normal bowel movements. I use to have the butcher cut it into about 6 or 7 pieces, but now I just buy it whole and drop it into the slow cooker. I cook it on high for about 3.5 hours and the meat just falls off the bone so it’s really easy to separate the meat from the bones. I’ll set some aside in the frig and freeze the rest until it’s ready to be eaten. Sometimes i’ll even cook it with potatoes but for her the potatoes have to be cut very tiny with the skin removed.

Leave a Reply

