Feeling Kreativ

Before the holidays, I was given the Kreativ Blogger award by K-Koira over at My Life With Flyball Dogs. Since I have been a very bad blogger since then, I am just now getting around to saying thanks.

For this award, I am supposed to share 10 things you may not know about us and then pass the award on to 6 blogs I enjoy.

First, ten things you may not know about us:

1. Pearl is named after the dog in Robert Parker’s series of novels about Spenser the private detective. Spenser’s Pearl is a solid liver german shorthaired pointer (they called her a GSP mix when we adopted her).
2. Every time my landlord/roommate opens a beer, Pearl goes crazy barking and growling at him. Almost any other time, she loves him. Clearly, she thinks he drinks too much.
3. My landlord says Pearl reminds him of the dog on Hyperbole and a Half. (Yes, we might have done the tests from that post to check if Pearl was retarded. Honestly, I think she has the opposite problem of being too smart for her own good).
4. One of the tricks Pearl knows is “spin,” but she will only turn right. Like Zoolander, she can’t turn left.
5. Pearl hates PDA. Anytime my husband and I hug or kiss she whines and jumps on us. If we sit next to each other on the couch she worms her way in between us.
6. Pearl used to be really afraid of my Uggs. Now that she’s gotten over that I have to put them out of reach or she will chew on them.
7. Pearl wakes us up every morning between 6 and 6:30. Sleeping in for her means 7:00 a.m. However, if we get up, walk her, and feed her she usually lets us go back to sleep… with her in the bed with us of course.
8. Sometimes Pearl lifts her leg like a boy when she pees.
9. Pearl has a really long spay scar and because she has so little hair on her stomach its really obvious. I wonder whether there were complications with her surgery, because I bet her scar is at least twice as long as the average spay scar.
10. Pearl can recognize the sound of a string cheese wrapper being opened from anywhere in the house and its the only kitchen/food-related sound that she will reliably come running for. It’s heartbreaking because string cheese was the only food I would ever share with her but because of her allergies and the food trial she can’t have any right now. So I’ve kind of quit eating string cheese along with her because I can’t bear to eat it in front of her.

Now, I know I am supposed to pass the award on to six blogs I enjoy, but I think many of the blogs I read have already been recipients and I am so new to the blogging world that I am finding new blogs all the time. So, I am opening it up. Any of my fellow bloggers who have not yet received this award, share 10 things with us and pass it on! (I know this is a cop out and I apologize… all of the blogs on my blogroll are deserving- I enjoy reading them all!)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Pearl the Puppy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Pearl the Puppy

Pearl is just over 40 lbs of energy mixed with a pinch of crazy. We adopted her in March 2011 from a St. Louis rescue organization called Impact for Animals (now Pet Rescue Network). We are unsure about her age, but we are guessing she was born in Fall 2010. Her background is anybody's guess, but we are pretty sure that she has at least some sighthound in her. She's a whole lot of trouble but a whole lot of fun.

8 thoughts on “Feeling Kreativ

  1. Its funny how dogs react to that string cheese package opening sound. Both of my dogs will come running for it as well.

    The only sound my cat comes running to (as far as sounds in the kitchen, since she responds very well to her name and to the word breakfast) is whipped cream in a can. I only ever gave her a taste of it once, and ever since, she comes running.

  2. Congratulations on your award! After all you have been through, I know it is definitely well-earned! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    It’s funny that Pearl will only turn right as Shiva has a decided left preference. I used to think that most dogs were left-footed since most people are right-handed. But perhaps a dog’s preference is more in-born than I imagined.

    By the way, I thought I should toss you a little hope: in the last couple months, Shiva has finally started sleeping in till 8am on weekends. 8!!! Okay, she is probably awake at five, but she will remain quiet until we get up at that much more decent time. Proof that it gets better!

  3. these were all very good, though i think #2 is my favorite. congrats on your award!!

    btw, i’m not sure if you are interested in becoming a Triberr member to grow your blog traffic, but i’d love to have you as a tribe mate. let me know!

    • I don’t even know what Triberr is, but if you explain it to me I am probably up for whatever it is, haha. I can’t even believe that anyone reads my blog, I started it mostly just an outlet for me to obsess about Pearl. But I love getting feedback and advice and also discovering new blogs to read, so getting more readers sounds great ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

