Remember me?

Hey all! So I have basically been MIA for a couple of months due to law school exams and then trying to work two jobs and write a paper for school all at once. Add some car troubles and a tooth infection- have to get my wisdom teeth out, boo- and it’s a recipe for barely keeping up with actual life, to say nothing of staying connected in the blog world (I’ve since decided to leave one of the jobs and pick a better paper topic, so things are getting under control now). But I have so much to share! I have a ton of awesome new dog gear that I want to talk about and Pearl has been getting so much better with her behavior both in the house and on walks. (We were tracking how often she barked at Nate or I in the house and she seriously has completely stopped doing it so I can’t even track it. We didn’t even start doing anything differently. Not that I am complaining but how weird is that?!) Of course we are still working through challenges, but somehow I have been able to find my zen and keep a better handle on my frustration, which makes living with Pearl 100x easier even when she is behaving badly.

We’ve been busy and tired!

Also, Pearl and I are taking the Canine Good Citizen test on June 27. I fully expect to fail but she has been doing awesome in class and its all a learning experience, right? She has been doing better about walking on a loose lead, but she has to  react appropriately to a neutral dog and accept a friendly stranger, and by accept they do NOT mean jump all over and lick the stranger’s face. They actually mean sit politely and not react to a stranger who comes up to the handler and gives a greeting/handshake. Those are the two things I am most worried about, but we still have one class left and a couple of weeks to practice.

Practicing sitting on a walk… she knows a treat is coming

I HAVE been keeping up with my blog reading and commenting here and there, but hopefully I will be able to do so more often now that my life has regained some normalcy. And Pearl is happy that we are back to goofing around in the yard, training with some consistency, and taking longer walks.

Pearl guarding her favorite new ball in the yard. Don’t let the relaxed look fool you- the second I take a step toward her she will grab the ball and dart out of reach. She prefers keep away to fetch.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Pearl the Puppy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Pearl the Puppy

Pearl is just over 40 lbs of energy mixed with a pinch of crazy. We adopted her in March 2011 from a St. Louis rescue organization called Impact for Animals (now Pet Rescue Network). We are unsure about her age, but we are guessing she was born in Fall 2010. Her background is anybody's guess, but we are pretty sure that she has at least some sighthound in her. She's a whole lot of trouble but a whole lot of fun.

7 thoughts on “Remember me?

  1. She is growing into quite a cute lookin’ girl. Keep a positive attitude about the test! You just never know. The things you are worried about are what I was worried about too with Luna. When indoors and being greeted by people she flips out often… since she is oober excited. But she did well for me on our test with that, it was when they started walking towards her with a brush! She thought it was a toy and starting going insane for it. Which was totally silly because she is a show dog and is very use to people feeling her all over etc and could care less. They were nice enough to try again towards the end when she had calmed down. As far as greeting the stranger politely, really work on a good solid sit and wait. They should allow you to keep reminding about the wait, that really helps them stay put when people approach.
    The lack of reaction to a neutral dog was my other huuuuge worry, especially when I saw that it was a big hairy shepherd. But Luna didn’t even act like it was there! I was soooo amazed, you just never know. Hopefully they will pick a good balanced, neutral dog to work with which really should help a ton. Let us know how it goes!
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  2. Isn’t it annoying how real life gets in the way of blogging? And I am sure Pearl will do great with the CGC. If there are any parts she needs to work more on, you can always do the work and test again later.

  3. She might surprise you pleasantly on the CGC, but then again, you can keep taking it, too!

    If you’re near Saint Louis, definitely think about the AKC Museum! You could always run around Queeny park some before hand to help her take the edge off. lol I’m really excited that we’re going to be going back!

  4. Yay! I am so excited you are taking the test! That is pretty huge. Did you ever imagine you would dare do such a thing back when you first adopted Pearl? I am thrilled for you both for coming so far! I can’t wait to hear how it goes.

    And seriously, don’t worry if you don’t pass. We didn’t and I fully intend on taking it again one day. The two things we failed were the exact same ones you are worried about. 😛 As the judge said, she failed for the right reasons, just too happy to meet someone new. Considering she used to have the opposite problem, I considered that a huge win. 🙂

  5. I’ve had to put aside the blog so many times I can’t even count. Life just gets in the way sometimes.,,,,! And toothaches are NO FUN. Glad you are getting a handle on balancing work and school, that must be a relief.

    Good luck on the CGC test. This here: “accept a friendly stranger, and by accept they do NOT mean jump all over and lick the stranger’s face.” is the same worry I had with Toby when he took the test, but he surprised me and did really well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

