Our First Dog-Sitting Experience!

A couple of weeks ago our friends went out of town and their dog, Buster, came to stay with us for the weekend.

Seriously, how cute is this guy?

Buster and Pearl know each other well and often go on walks together or have “play dates.” We were a little worried about how they would do in the house for two days together, but they were so well behaved and it was very little extra work to have a second dog in the house (it totally convinced my husband that, when the time comes that we can afford it, we can handle having a second dog- yay!). Buster is very easygoing and sweet. I was sick with strep throat while he was with us and he curled up at my feet on the couch and kept me company all weekend. He’s just a happy go lucky little guy- his tail is usually wagging and he always looks like he is looking up with you with a happy doggy grin.

Pearl and Buster were really good about sharing toys and not playing too rough together in the house. I couldn’t get a good picture of them playing tug since they were moving so much, but they were so adorable I am sharing some blurry photos anyway (don’t mind all the mess in the background. Since I was sick this week I picked up even less than usual- thank goodness my mother doesn’t read this blog, she would be horrified).

They also loved playing in the yard. I wish we could have been out there more but it was SO HOT.

After a long session of playing together they would chill out on the couch or cuddle up with us to nap.

Napping with Nate (Pearl is curled up with her blankie in this picture, she sleeps with it all the time, it’s super cute… she loves blankets).

We had never had another dog over the house before and dog sitting Buster went so much better than we were expecting. It definitely convinced us that Pearl will be able to handle adding a second dog to our little family when the time is right.

Such well-behaved puppies!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Pearl the Puppy. Bookmark the permalink.

About Pearl the Puppy

Pearl is just over 40 lbs of energy mixed with a pinch of crazy. We adopted her in March 2011 from a St. Louis rescue organization called Impact for Animals (now Pet Rescue Network). We are unsure about her age, but we are guessing she was born in Fall 2010. Her background is anybody's guess, but we are pretty sure that she has at least some sighthound in her. She's a whole lot of trouble but a whole lot of fun.

6 thoughts on “Our First Dog-Sitting Experience!

  1. Buster is a total cutey face! I’m glad they they got along so well.

    Have I mentioned before that I loved Pearl’s white toes? I must have.

  2. I’m so glad this went well for you guys. I actually would really like to dog sit for someone, myself, just to see how it would go with Desmond. We, too, want a 2nd dog at some point but are pretty convinced that Desmond would be awful with this change.

    • You may be surprised! We thought Pearl would be AWFUL but she actually did pretty well. Granted, it probably helped that Buster and Pearl have been “friends” since the week we adopted her.

Leave a comment